A Night of Emotion and Excitement at the 2023 Business Awards

Business Awards Deputy Lieutenant

The 18th Annual Business Awards, held on Friday, 12th May 2023, was an evening filled with emotion, excitement, and a strong sense of community. Celebrating the successes of local businesses from Seaford, Newhaven, and Peacehaven, the event brought together over 100 VIPs, members, and guests at the Jerrom Hall, Peacehaven. Organised by Newhaven Chamber of Commerce in association with Seaford and Peacehaven Chambers, this prestigious event showcased the remarkable achievements of companies and individuals who contribute to the local economy and community.

A Star-Studded Evening

The event was graced by the presence of distinguished guests, including His Majesty the King’s representative, the Deputy Lieutenant for East Sussex, Mr. David Allam, Newhaven Mayor Paul Boswell, Seaford Deputy Mayor Cllr Liz Boorman, and Peacehaven Mayor LucyJo Symonds. Also in attendance were Deputy Chief of Mission Mrs. To Minh Thu from the Embassy of the Socialist Republic of Vietnam for the UK and Ireland, Be Thi Ut Nguyen, First Secretary of the Embassy, MP Maria Caulfield, and all three Presidents of the Chambers of Commerce.

Our host for the evening was John Young, whose expertise and flair as a past BBC news journalist, made the evening even more exceptional with some heartwarming impromptu interviews with some of our winners.

Strong Local Support

The Seahaven Business Awards were generously supported by local sponsors, with categories judged by the two MPs, the Presidents of the Newhaven, Seaford, and Peacehaven’s Chamber of Commerce, and Graham Peters, Chairman of the Newhaven Enterprise Zone. The collaboration between the three chambers demonstrates the importance of local businesses in creating better lives for everyone and fostering a sense of community.

The Winners of the 18th Seahaven Business Awards

The awards recognized exceptional businesses and individuals that demonstrated resilience, innovation, commitment to staff, and who take great pride in being part of our community. The winners were presented with trophies made by goldsmith Mike Shorer, each weighing 4kg and made from solid aircraft-grade alloy, anodised gold, hand engraved, and hand enamelled.

Business of the Year

The most prestigious category, Business of the Year, sponsored by The Newhaven Enterprise Zone, recognised overall excellence in business performance, innovation, and community involvement. The winners were (and all from Seaford):

Inle Home winners of Business of the Year Seahaven Business Awards

Ist – Inle Home

2nd – Whittfit Training

3rd – Seaford Town Market

President’s Award for Creative Enterprise

Sponsored by Mike Shorer Fine Jewellery, the President’s Award for Creative Enterprise celebrated businesses that excelled in creativity and innovation. The winners included:

Julie's Art of Noise Pres Awards Winner

1st – Julie’s Art of Noise

2nd – Got Buns Huns

3rd – (joint) Magpie Art UK and James Cox Music

Best New Business

The Best New Business category, sponsored by the Newhaven Enterprise Centre, recognised outstanding new companies that have made a significant impact in the local economy. The winners were:

Pelham Barbers New Business winner

1st – Pelham Barbers

2nd – Whittfit Training

3rd – Newleaf Camper Conversions

Best Environmental Business

Sponsored by Fine Marketing, the Best Environmental Business category honoured companies that demonstrated a strong commitment to environmental sustainability. The winners included:

Winners Seahaven Business Awards Haven

1st – Havens Food Cooperative

2nd – Take Good Care

3rd – Jeavons Toffee

Best Eatery

The Best Eatery category, sponsored by Experience It Now Travel, celebrated establishments offering exceptional dining experiences. The winners were:

West Quay Cafe winners best eatery

1st – West Quay Cafe

2nd – The Viceroy

3rd – The Bengal Palace Restaurant

Business Person of the Year

Sponsored by Swindells Chartered Accountants, the Business Person of the Year category recognised exceptional individuals who made a significant impact on their businesses and the local community. The winners included:

Winner Business Person of the Year

1st – Yahya Al-Hattabi from the Yemeni Coffee House

2nd – Levente Novaki from La Maison Mobile Catering

3rd – Megan Turk of Got Buns Huns

Best Customer Service

The Best Customer Service category, sponsored by The Sussex Sign Company, honoured businesses that excelled in providing exceptional customer experiences. The winners were:

Rachel Ayres best customer service

1st – Rachel Ayres of Seaford’s Secret Fairy’s Bookshop

2nd Kempton House Day Centre

3rd – (joint) CmdShiftR and CTLA

Giving Back to the Community

In addition to celebrating the achievements of local businesses, the event also raised money for the Hillcrest Community Centre through a silent auction and raffle.

A Special Thanks to the Sponsors

The Seahaven Business Awards would not have been possible without the generous support of key sponsors, including the Charles Cox Group, Veolia, Meeching Estate Agents, Cleankill, V R Flowers & Son, Helen Macauley, Arlettes Florists, Seahaven FM, and 2nd Cup of Tea.

A Night to Remember

The 18th Seahaven Business Awards was a night to remember, showcasing the incredible talent and dedication of local businesses and individuals. The event served as a reminder of the importance of supporting and nurturing the local economy while fostering a sense of community and pride in the Seahaven area. Congratulations to all the winners, and here’s to another successful year of business in the Seahaven region!

More photos on our gallery.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *