Enter the SBA Awards 2019 to celebrate the best of Seahaven’s businesses

The Newhaven Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce the launch of 16thAnnual Seahaven Business Awards. The 2019 awards are open for nominations from Monday 4th February and recognise businesses which have shown tremendous commitment, innovation and inspiration to all around them. 

Newhaven Chamber of Commerce President Mike Shorer said: ‘Last year’s event was incredibly successful but 2019 is promising to be even better. Many thanks to key sponsors Veolia and Elite Industries; the Newhaven Enterprise Centre, CleanKill and HM Bookkeeping; Arlettes Florists, Excell Design and Fine Marketing. Without support from our sponsors, we would be unable to organise this annual event. We will be welcoming a representative from the Lord Lieutenant’s office and also expect the Vietnamese Ambassador to the UK at our Grand Gala Awards Dinner on 10 May at Jerrom Hall, Peacehaven.’ 

If you would like to nominate a business or, enter your own business, then please visit more details. There are seven award categories giving local businesses and community organisations the opportunity to enter at least two categories. 

  • Business of the Year – sponsored by Tomsetts Distribution Ltd 
  • Business Person of the Year – sponsored by Swindells Chartered Accountants
  • Best Environmental Business – sponsored by Fine Marketing
  • Best Customer Service – sponsored by the Bengal Palace Restaurant
  • Best New Business – sponsored by The Hope Inn
  • Best Eatery – sponsored by Fundraising Auctions
  • President’s Award – Best Health, Wellbeing and Beauty Business – sponsored by Elite Industries.

Any business that is located in, or trades within, the Seahaven area (BN9, BN25 or BN10 postcodes) mainly Newhaven, Seaford and Peacehaven, is eligible to enter. Businesses do not need to be members of a Chamber of Commerce to enter. 

Businesses can nominate themselves or can be nominated. If you know of a business who you think should be recognised for achievements, customer service, growth, innovation or, has gone that extra mile, then please take time to nominate them. Our local businesses deserve recognition, we have an outstanding range of thriving businesses within this busy coastal community and this is an excellent opportunity for them to be rewarded. The awards are free to enter. Please visit Seahaven Business Awards 2019 and enter online or download an entry form.

On the judging panel this year will be local MP Maria Caulfield, MP Lloyd Russell-Moyle, the Mayor of Newhaven and the Presidents of the Newhaven, Peacehaven and Seaford Chambers of Commerce.

Closing date for nominations is Friday, 29th March 2019, and the winners will be announced at the Gala Dinner on Friday 10th May 2019. The winners will receive trophies designed by Newhaven President and goldsmith Mike Shorer.

The Seahaven Business Awards are organised by Newhaven Chamber of Commerce in collaboration with Peacehaven and Seaford Chambers of Commerce. 

Enter at Seahaven Business Awards 2019 or ring the Chamber office on 01273 517544 for more information. 


For further details or images please contact:

Julia Johnson, Fine Marketing and Newhaven Chamber of Commerce on 01403 292 120 or 07572 422303